Friday Fictioneer 100 Word Story #4

Christmas Tree

 These humans, how stupid. They come to look at me, their children prancing around them like a pack of pink hairless dogs. Until they see me. Ooh, it’s scrawny, we can’t get that one! And the male, apologising to his spawn: we can’t afford a big one. Ha! Do they think I want to be chosen? Do they think I want to be garlanded with shiny objects, strips of plastic and their painful electric wires? But they do choose me, out of his economy and her pity. Her pity!  I’m soon dead anyway, severed, by them, from my roots.

16 comments

  1. Yes! This is your best story yet, although the last one was a laugh a minute. This one has murder in it! And a wry sense of humour as well.
    Yours as ever,

    Lindaura
    P.S. I made a slight change in mine, but only slight…

    • Without much forethought, I guess I was depicting the tree as an alien. When I see/read all these movies and books about aliens I think how we are surrounded by aliens in all the flora and fauna of earth and actually haven’t a clue of the essence of their existences. Every once in a while I see some newspaper article about how scientists have discovered that bears use tools or dogs can think and I feel hopeless.

      • I like to think about that sort of perspective and I try to not impose my humanoid thought into the imagining, but I can’t help it.

  2. A really good story, although now you make me feel guilty for mine – which is perhaps the opposite side of the same story?! You capture the tree’s disdain and hurt perfectly.

  3. Dear Carlos,

    Very nice story. I thought of how humans use wood when I looked at the Grandfather clock, the wooden wall and, of course, the tree. You captured our monstrous strangeness perfectly. My favorite line was, “I’m soon dead anyway, severed, by them, from my roots.”

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Thank you, Doug. I still stand by my comment on your story; it was sublime. It’s funny, I am so unobservant: I of course saw the grandfather clock, but I never thought about it, or the reflection in its glass. Nothing but the tree for me. The same happened with the lovely woods photo previously; I never noticed it was autumn. You learn a lot about yourself in writing these little stories.

    • Thank you. We lived in the mountains for 11 years. After we’d been there a couple years, I bought an aluminum tree for the first time and never used a formerly alive tree again. A couple of times I bought a live tree and planted it in the front yard afterwards. There was a lot of clearcutting going on all round us, animals losing their habitats, mountain lions coming into town, no fish in the streams, and I couldn’t bring myself to add to the destruction in the name of Christmas.

Leave a Reply

