Friday Fictioneers 100 Word story #16: Instinct

 

Instinct

The President of Dogs took his job seriously. He was not required to think — not his strong point. He had advisers for that. A sheepdog, a Queensland Blue, a Staffordshire and a Pit Bull who was very good at understanding relations with humans. He was the Minister for Human Relations, though they had to bar him from Dog Relations Committee meetings. A Poodle to explain his advisers to him.

They were better at thinking, but the President had something they lacked. Nobility. He looked noble; the bitches swooned, the dogs grovelled. He didn’t know why, it was just instinct.

 

28 comments

    • Thanks… political? A couple of my friends read the story. One thought it was politically conservative because the traits, especially nobility, were born and bred; the other thought it was politically liberal because it satirized the presidency. I thought it was about dogs.
      I liked your story very much.

  1. Dear Carlos,

    I’m glad you were able to successfully capitalize on what I think everyone saw in that marvelous picture-Nobility, as you said so well. I enjoyed learning about the intricacies of the Cabinet and think you would have contended for your cup, but I’d already given it to MIQ.

    Nice talking to you.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • I think Politics is self-skewering, or maybe just people-skewering… no, that would be skrewing I guess… all we have to do is tap in and we have endless images of cynica humor.

  2. I really liked this story! You nailed the dogs… yes, the President looks very Noble in this photo, doesn’t he… the George Clooney of dogs… (yes, I know Bobbie Sue is a girl)

  3. Haha, I liked that commentary. Very funny! Good at least that he recognizes that he doesn’t have the brains and needs to rely on his advisors 😉

Leave a Reply

