Friday Fictioneer 100 Word Story: Rainbow Fortress

Rainbow Fortress

I knew it. I knew it would play out this way when they invented Facebook. I knew it even back when they invented the Internet. The whole network of Reality Control invented by the Defense Department. They already controlled the world the old-fashioned way: guns, tanks and bombs; now they’ll control it the modern way, through minds — for the believers, that is. But everyday more are leaving Facebook, leaving the Internet. Now they’ve walled us off with their Rainbow Barriers; as if we’re gonna be deterred because fortress walls are pretty. The damned Unicorn SS doesn’t fool us either.

54 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer 100 Word Story: Rainbow Fortress

  1. I love it! Facebook mind control, Rainbow Barriers, and those damned Unicorns.
    Cracked me up.
    I knew you would come up with something droll and this was very clever.
    X
    mine will be up tomorrow at http://fictionvictimtoo.blogspot.com

  2. teschoenborn says:

    Ha, unicorn SS, who would have thunk? Very, very funny!

    Here’s mine:http://teschoenborn.com/2012/05/17/friday-fictioneers-luck-of-the/

  3. TheOthers1 says:

    You are cracking me up today! Lol. Conspiracy theories! Facebook mind control. Be wary. 🙂 lol

  4. This takes the concept of a conspiracy theory to a very humorous place. I like it.

    My effort is here: http://www.jeffreyhollar.com/2012/05/golden-quest.html

  5. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Carlos,

    Since you’ve outed us, let me use this forum to summon you to the Summer Conclave of the Unicorn Cadre. It will be one week earlier than usual this year and on Maui instead of the Big Island. Please bring the pretty young acolyte you had in your service at the last meeting. She and I have unfinished business to attend to.

    (Nice story, though I don’t think the Minister of Information will see it that way.)

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/no-rain-no-rainbows-3/

  6. rochellewisoff says:

    I had to read this more than once. Gave me chills and made me laugh at the same time. Thanks.

    • Mostly laughing, I hope. Though it is rather chilling that FB has become for us like the water fish swim in, and yet is controlled by humans who can change the rules at any time. It’s all part of the new medievalism.

  7. I can imagine the narrator wagging his finger, saying I told you so. And the image of unicorns in jackboots is hilarious.

    Nicely little piece, Carlos.

  8. Sandra says:

    A nice Orwellian slant, but the reference to Facebook makes me edgy. 😦 I like the idea of rainbow barriers though. And better still the Unicorns … brings a whole new meaning to that knock on the door in the middle of the night. Well done for being different as well.

    Mine’s at: http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/pursuit-friday-fictioneers-may-2012/

    • Oh, it’s just that FB is in the news, I guess, and that I’ve recently noticed a few people announcing that they are quitting FB and in future will communicate only through email and Skype (!) — not an impossible idea. And a bit of a parody of “end of the world is nigh” alarmists.
      I spend half my life on FB – it’s connected to my work – and find much of it an irritating time-waste, misused (a simple email would be better) with an emperor’s new clothes aspect to it.

  9. elmowrites says:

    Well, you and Doug are going to start giving me the creeps with all these conspiracy theories. Great story, Carlos – and I love the idea that pretty walls will keep us in!

    I’m over here: http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/friday-fiction-the-lie-of-the-land/

    • Thanks, Elmo. I’m not quite the conspiracy obsessive that it might seem; I was, however, thinking of Doug when I was writing this. There is something ominous about control over communication, but ’twas ever thus, from church control in the Middle Ages to Hearst publishing in the 19th & 20th centuries, Rupert Murdoch in the 21st, etc. Maybe a theorist, or better, a realist, but not an alarmist.

  10. A uniquely different take on the prompt. This is specatcular! Mine is here: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/friday-fictioneers-sinking-low/

  11. Brandon Scott says:

    I always knew Facebook was evil. You’ve confirmed my suspicions!

    My attempt: http://authorbrandonscott.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/facade/

  12. Greetings Carlos,
    Very timely of you to post this on the day of the FB IPO. I hope you realize you are under FB surveillance 24/7 and you could be Zuckerburged any time now. But if you are, the Friday Fictioneers will launch a rescue mission.
    Thanks for reading and commenting on my story

  13. mysocalledDutchlife says:

    One more awakened sheep 😉

    Great story. Love that he won’t be deterred. The unicorns are probably aliens, waiting for Niburu anyway 😀

    I’m here: http://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/friday-fictioneers/

  14. erinleary says:

    Carlos, this is amazing. The coincidence is that I just today wrote my “Freedom Manifesto” from Facebook, thinking that the timing of my leaving just as the IPO was executed seemed poetic. I really enjoyed this. I am now FB free and loving it!

    Mine is here: http://erinleary.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/eirinn-go-brach/

    • Great! Quitting FB does seem to be trending now and it’s a good thing, I think. It’s weird, FB is actually pretty unnecessary except that everyone is using it, making it appear necessary. The importance of telling everyone what you did today, what you think about anything, is illusory. It is good for the same things that group emails are, mass messages. But the amount of detritus on FB is staggering. Thanks for your comment.

  15. Scott Hays says:

    I must be operating in some sort of time warp out here on the left coast … I did a few things during the day (finished the backyard fence to keep the puppy safe while we’re away … incidentally, I agree that we should strive to better understand animals: many of the apes demonstrate empathy, mri’s of dog brains show real communication takes place when we issue commands, and we all know that dolphins are the smartest mammal on the planet), come back here and there is a page load of comments. What can I add that hasn’t been said? Are drugs involved in making the rainbow colors and unicorns seem more appealing than they should? Or is television and the internet enough to hold most everyone’s attention? And do those who have tuned in and dropped out find a place to meet … to organize … to resist? Or is resistance useless? You’ve read mine (thanks for finding it clever and funny … for the first time I had to go over 100 words and am a tad bit disappointed) … but others can find it at http://scottcheck.blogspot.com/2012/05/rainbow-promises.html

    • Hi Scott,
      The time difference thing gets very complicated with people from Hawaii (Doug), England & Scotland and all zones in the US. Madison seems to get up in Arkansas at some ungodly hour like 5am to post her story, which is 10 or 11 am in the UK, 2 or 3am in California and a couple hours before that in Hawaii.
      No drugs, just the cynical use of archetypal images of innocence and beauty. Television has become more interesting – it’s the new film – which is therefore a sign of it becoming less trance-inducing. Some people can’t distinguish between the internet and Facebook, but it’s not the same. The internet has transformed the world for better or worse; the value of FB in that size and scope is questionable, most of it’s content is completely inessential, pointless and leads to a deceptive sense of community where there is none. If FB disappeared tomorrow, people would quickly get used to it with a small number going through withdrawal. If the internet disappeared, we would be plunged into chaos. We’re not on FB right now, but it’s a case in point: I’m talking to you in a one-to-one conversation; why are we doing it in front of everyone? It’s a world of eavesdroppers.
      The Daleks said Resistance is Futile, but I don’t believe them.

  16. Madison Woods says:

    I am infinitely wary of the ‘modern conveniences’, LOL, that’s why the real Madison will be living off-grid and in a secret location soon 😉 Loved this cynical little story Carlos.

    • Sometimes I feel like moving to some remote place with tools like a pencil and a shovel. But then I lived there already for 11 years and was happy to get out. Lots of people living off-grid where there, but no matter where you are, people are people. One guy that moved up there later said “This is not a community, it’s a settlement!”
      I think Arkansas is already a secret place.

  17. Lora Mitchell says:

    Clever and scary … I visualize you writing an updated version of “1984”…and frightening the bejeezees out of everyone. I predict a NYTimes bestseller. Here’s mine:
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  18. Best seller… I could use the money! 1984 is hard to update, it continues to be relevant. George Orwell was a prophetic genius.

  19. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Carlos,

    I can count on Madison to post her, “Woo hoo!’ notice at the stroke of midnight on Thursday, so FridayFictioneers really does begin for me on the very start of Friday. WordPress has already started counting down its own version of Friday around ten hours earlier so I’ve finally started posting at around 2PM on Thursday. I stay up until around 3AM Friday morning and then crash just as everyone else’s day (with the exception of Sandra and the other ‘close to Greenwich Meridian’ types) is just getting rolling. As our numbers have grown I now have to take literally all week to read everyone’s submissions and reply to comments. I try to get to the old timers right away but still desire to find every story before Madison pulls the trigger on another round some six days later. It’s fun and gratifying and I’ve made a few good friends and learned a lot. (All will end when the Interweb goes dark, but for now, I’m burning the candle at both ends. I guess we’ll go back to snail mail or smoke signals.)

    Aloha all,

    Doug

    • The numbers have grown so much that I can’t keep up, there’s just not enough time for me. I do the same as you, have a prioritisation. I read the familiar favourites first, the writers I have grown to like most. Then I read the stories of people who comment on mine, and some that I see on others’ comment pages, then go through Madison’s page, but often don’t get to everyone before life intervenes. It’s become quite time-consuming, so I make some ruthless choices, like generally not reading stories that don’t use Madison’s prompt, sometimes not reading or not finishing stories that exceed the 100 words by a lot, like double. I like, and believe in, the parameters and, thrust into a sea of relativity, find comment difficult when they are ignored.
      I usually get Madison’s prompt Wednesday afternoon, so I am confused as to when you get yours. I often write it Thursday or Friday morning, but I’m 8 hours ahead of California, 6 hours ahead of Arkansas, 10 hours ahead of Hawaii. I usually post on my blogsite Thursday night, and on Madison Friday late morning.
      Coming to you from the HMS Confusion, adrift on the Sea of Relativity,
      Carlos

  20. Definitely mind control – I feel myself drawn to facebook…I don’t want to be a statistic! haha But I have to say, I clearly see the threads you wove throughout your story – those outlining our dependence upon things that seemingly more and more control our every move. (you forgot the news though – it tells us what to think more than anything else!)

    ~Susan

    • Yes, the news, that has been going on a very long time. The Spanish-American War in 1898 was often described as Hearst’s War and was when the term “yellow journalism” originated. And Murdoch, a huge influence in the last 20 years, and a very unsavory one. And so it goes, to quote Kurt Vonnegut. Much of it is distraction, however, one of the most basic functions of modern sports. And I think FB falls into that category; it keeps people busy doing nothing, fostering a false sense of community.

      • I keep up with my cousins and old Navy friends on there – they live on the other side of the country or are scattered around the world – but will admit I spend too much time there and wonder what I did with my time before….

  21. Parul says:

    Rainbow barriers! Very interesting! I wish I could think of that!!
    Good work!

    Parul

    http://faitaccompli.wordpress.com/2012/05/20/alicia-in-wonderland/

  22. Michael Fishman says:

    Carlos, I loved your unique take on the prompt. It’s about time someone called those unicorns out for who they really are!

Leave a Reply

